Pages & Paws

Writing, Reading, and Rural Life With a Border Collie

If You Loved LOTR, You’re Gonna Want to Read THIS

2 Comments

It’s been awhile since our last Beginnings and a Friday 56. So today we’re covering both with J. V. Hilliard’s new fantasy/adventure release, The Last Keeper. Like this:

Book Beginnings is a theme where readers share the first sentence (or couple of sentences) from their current read. It’s hosted by Rose City Reader every Friday.

The Friday 56 is hosted by Frida’s Voice. Share a few sentences from page 56 or 56% into your current read. Sound good? Perfect! Cuz here we go:

This week our Book Beginning and Friday 56 are from Book One of The Warminster Series, The Last Keeper.

See the source image

Beginning:

“The sun was beginning to show red over the horizon, as the wooded hollow in the shadow of the Dragon’s Breath Mountains stirred. Light streamed into the valley, illuminating the dew that clung to the long blades of grass and turning it into a sea of little stars. …

In an instant, a single, ear-splitting sound drowned the valley in a thunderous clap. A white-hot blaze of magic twisted the air, charring the ground beneath it. Birds fluttered into a frenzied cloud, while woodland creatures scattered in all directions. A human figure, hunched and bleeding, tumbled out of the rift and onto the blackened ground.

***

Friday 56

Here’s an excerpt from page 56 of The Last Keeper:

“If you return to Castleshire and find me gone,” the great hunter said, “look to the Boiling Beaker in Abacus. I stay with an alchemist there from time to time. He goes by the name of Jeric Tuttle.”

The three stood from their table and clinked their glasses.

“To the dicovery of new things,” Helenius toasted.

“And to the protection of those we love,” Dacre added.

About The Last Keeper:

Blind at birth, Daemus Alaric is blessed with the gift of prophetic Sight. Now, as a Keeper of the Forbidden, he must use his powers of the Sight to foil the plans of a fallen Keeper, Graytorris the Mad.

An elven Princess with a horrifying secret.

Princess Addilyn Elspeth travels from Eldwal, the magically hidden home of the Vermilion elves, to begin her life as a diplomat to the human capital of Castleshire. During her journey, she stumbles upon a mystical creature foretelling ill tidings.

A terrifying force of evil.

Daemus’ recurring nightmare vision threatens to catapult him into a terrifying struggle that will leave the fate of the Keepers—and the realm—hanging in the balance. Daemus and Princess Addilyn must set out to face the menace that threatens their very existence.
Will the entire realm fall to its knees?

‘The Last Keeper’ author, J.V. Hilliard.

***

Our Take

If you’re looking for a light, frothy read of the cotton candy variety, keep looking. Cuz The Last Keeper ain’t it. Clocking in at 429 pages, this is a weighty read. It takes some effort. But it’s worth it.

This book features robust, three-dimensional characters, impressive world-building skills, and an epic sweep reminiscent of Middle Earth. It’s full of magic, fantastic creatures, dastardly villains, stalwart heroes and heroines, and plenty of action and adventure.

If you enjoyed Frodo, Sam, Gandalf, Aragorn and Company, you’ll probably find yourself at home amid Ritter the trollborn, Princess Addilyn, the valiant fugitive Faux Daldon, and Castleshire.

Note: We received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Our Rating: 3.5

2 thoughts on “If You Loved LOTR, You’re Gonna Want to Read THIS

  1. Both the beginning and page 56 drew me right in. I hope you love this book.
    On a side note, it that an Osprey with a fish in it’s talons at the top of this page?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s