Pages & Paws

Writing, Reading, and Rural Life With a Border Collie

10 Books to Read If You Love Narnia

9 Comments

Journeys to the end of the world. Fantastic creatures. Talking animals. Epic battles between good and evil. C.S. Lewis’s beloved classic, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, has it all.

Finished all seven Narnia books? Just in time for Top Ten Tuesday, here are ten more magical books to take you through the wardrobe. In no particular order:

10 Books to Read If You Love Narnia

1. The Hobbit

By J.R.R. Tolkien

The introduction to the hobbit Bilbo Baggins, the wizard Gandalf, Gollum, and Middle-earth recounts the adventures of a reluctant hero, a powerful and dangerous ring, and the cruel dragon Smaug the Magnificent.

2. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz

By L. Frank Baum

Don’t make me explain this.

3. Alice in Wonderland

By Lewis Carroll

When Alice sees a white rabbit take a watch out of its waistcoat pocket she decides to follow it, and a sequence of most unusual events is set in motion. The topsy-turvy stories of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass weren’t originally intended as children’s stories. They’re largely political satire.

4. Chitty-Chitty Bang Bang

By Ian Fleming

This children’s classic features a flying, floating, driving-by-itself automobile that takes the Pott family on a riotous series of adventures as they try to capture a notorious gang of robbers. This is a story filled with humor, adventure, and gadgetry that only Fleming could create.

5. The Once and Future King

By T. H. White

T. H. White’s masterful retelling of the saga of King Arthur is a fantasy classic as legendary as Excalibur and Camelot. Probably the most well-known and authoritative adaptation of the Arthurian story. It’s dense, clocking in at over 600 pages. The story of adventure, romance, and magic has enchanted readers for generations.

6. The Lightning Thief

By Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse – Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. Percy’s Mom sends him to the one place he’ll be safe: Camp Half Blood. But a mystery soon unfolds and Percy and his friends set out on a quest across the U.S. to reach the gates of the Underworld and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

7. How to Train Your Dragon

By Cressida Cowell

Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III, the quiet and thoughtful son of the Chief of the Hairy Hooligans, tries to pass the important initiation test of his Viking clan by catching and training a dragon. Can Hiccup do it without being torn limb from limb?

8. Peter Pan

By J.M. Barrie

The mischievous boy who refuses to grow up lands in the Darling’s home to look for his shadow. He befriends Wendy, John and Michael and teaches them to fly (with a little help from fairy dust). He and Tinker Bell whisk them off to Never-land where they encounter the Red Indians, the Little Lost Boys, pirates and the dastardly Captain Hook.

9. The Pilgrim’s Progress

By John Bunyan

This famous story of man’s progress through life in search of salvation remains one of the most entertaining allegories of faith ever written. Set against realistic backdrops of town and country, the powerful drama of the pilgrim’s trials and temptations follows him in his harrowing journey to the Celestial City.

10. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

By Ransom Riggs

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience.

What would you add?

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish,
Now hosted by Jana over at That Artsy Reader Girl 
To take part, just pick your top ten, and add the link here.

9 thoughts on “10 Books to Read If You Love Narnia

  1. Fun list! I do love Narnia, although I have to admit that I’ve only read the first book myself. I did listen to my husband read aloud the others to our daughter, so that counts, right? I just got a book from the publisher called ONCE UPON A WARDROBE. I can’t wait to read it.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    • Oh boy! I’ll have to look for that title for sure! My favorite book in the Narnia series is The Last Battle. So full of hope and inspiration.

  2. Those books go so well together. Hubby and my sons love this genre and I think they’ve read them all.

    Thanks for visiting my TTT about China.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s